My Cart

Mini Cart


The Man From Mo'Wax Soundtrack CD


Music From the Motion Picture

- +

The Man from Mo’Wax tells the exhilarating, no-holds-barred story of James Lavelle, one of the most enigmatic yet influential figures in contemporary British culture.

James Lavelle played his first DJ set at 14, launched pioneering record label Mo'Wax at 18 and released the genre defining UNKLE album Psyence Fiction at 22. His phenomenally rapid rise seemed limitless, but it's only when you're going so fast that the wheels fall off. The Man from Mo’Wax tells the remarkable story of one of the most enigmatic yet influential figures in contemporary British culture.

Unearthed from over 700 hours of footage including exclusive personal archive spanning three decades, we get the rare opportunity to watch a boy become a man in the world of music. The result is an exhilarating, no holds-barred ride into the life of an extraordinary man and an equally extraordinary era, taking in some decidedly flawed decision-making (both personal and professional), Lavelle emerges as an innovative artist who thinks big and consistently overcomes adversity.

This is the soundtrack from the film, featuring key tracks and artists from Mo'Wax Records stable, including UNKLE, DJ Shadow, Blackalicious, Thom Yorke, Ian Brown, DJ Krush and Dr Octagon. 

Presented in a beautiful gatefold card CD package. 

Track listing:

1.   UNKLE - Back and Forth
2.   Zimbabwe Legit - Doin' Damage in My Native Language (Shadow's legitimate remix)
3.   Marie 'Queenie' Lyons - See and Don't See
4.   The Wild Bunch - Friends & Countrymen
5.   Hiroshi Fujiwara + KUDO featuring DJ Milo - Return of The Original Art Form (DJ mix)
6.   RPM - Food of My De-Rhythm
7.   Blackalicious - Swan Lake
8.   La Funk Mob - Ravers Suck Our Sound and Get F**k
9.   Attica Blues - Contemplating Jazz
10. Dr. Octagon - Blue Flowers
11. DJ Krush - Kemuri
12. DJ Shadow - Organ Donor (extended overhaul)
13. UNKLE featuring Thom Yorke - Rabbit In Your Headlights
14. Queens Of The Stone Age - ... Like Clockwork
15. UNKLE featuring Ian Brown - Reign
16. DJ Shadow - What Does Your Soul Look Like (part 1)

Order the film on DVD and Blu-ray here

The Man From Mo'Wax was made with support from the BFI Film Fund. Every purchase from the BFI Shop contributes to the work of the BFI. 

Additional Information
More Information
SKU 602567279044
Size 13 x 13 cm
Publisher(s) Island Records
Customer Reviews

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: The Man From Mo'Wax Soundtrack CD