My Cart

Mini Cart


Joshua Oppenheimer: 12 Early Works


12 films directed by Joshua Oppenheimer

- +

Joshua Oppenheimer is perhaps among the most exciting contemporary documentary filmmakers.

His multi award-winning films The Act of Killing (2012) and The Look of Silence (2014) have redefined how we perceive documentary. His films do not simply record or document facts: Oppenheimer's haunting and surreal films are artistic, playful, philosophical and often confrontational. They present profound and ardent meditations on the subjects at hand.

Here, Second Run are delighted to present, for the first time anywhere on DVD, the complete cycle of the early works of Joshua Oppenheimer, presenting a compelling body of work of one of today's most unique and compelling documentarians.


  • Light Test (1995)
  • Camera Test (1995)
  • Hugh (co-directed by Nishit Saran) (1995)
  • The Challenge of Manufacturing (1996)
  • These Places We've Learned to Call Home (1996)
  • The Entire History of the Louisiana Purchase (1997)
  • Land of Enchantment (2000)
  • The Globalisation Tapes (2002)
  • Market Update (2002)
  • A Brief History of Paradise As Told by the Cockroaches (2002)
  • Muzak: A Tool of Management (2002)
  • Postcard from Sun City, Arizona (2003)
  • Presented from brand new re-mastered transfers of the films, supervised and approved by the director.
  • Exclusive, new filmed interview with director Joshua Oppenheimer.
  • 24-page booklet featuring an expansive new essay by film writer, curator and producer Gareth Evans.
Additional Information
More Information
SKU 5060114150973
Catalogue Number SECONDRUN102
Product contents 1 disc
Year 1995 - 2003
Director Joshua Oppenheimer
Format DVD
Publisher(s) Second Run
Aspect ratio 1.33:1
Sound Stereo 2.0 (restored)
Language(s) English
Running time 174 min total
DVD region All regions
Certificate PG
Customer Reviews

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Joshua Oppenheimer: 12 Early Works